Our Governing Body
Board of Directors

The Board of Directors is the legal governing authority of Hospice Greater Saint John, Inc. and oversees the affairs of the organization.  The Board acts in a position of trust for the community and is responsible for the effective governance, stewardship, leadership and support of the organization.  The Board of Directors is ultimately responsible to the community and to regulatory and funding bodies, as appropriate, for the strategic direction and effective operation and management of Hospice.

The Board is comprised of the Executive Committee which includes the Chair, Vice Chair, Secretary, Treasurer and four Directors.  There are also two senior staff members on the Board, the CEO who is the chief administrative officer of the company and the Director of Medical Care who is the chief medical officer for the company who serve in ex-officio positions and have full authority to manage the organization to achieve the agreed-upon outcomes while respecting the executive limitations placed upon them.

Shirley McAlary
Chair of the board

Former Mayor, Former Deputy Mayor, Former Air Canada Sales

Brad Adams
Ex-Effico Member

CEO of Hospice Greater Saint John

Kevin Fudge CPA, CA, BBA

Commissioner of Finance City of Saint John

Bill Edwards
Vice President

Retired Chief Engineer City of Saint John

Dr. Chris O'Brien
Ex-Effico Member

Medical Director

Mark Butler
Vice Chair

Dillion Consulting Partner

Patricia Muir

HR Specalist

Paul Cherry
Norma Kitchen

Retired Regional Manager of Federal Procurement and Construction Contracting.